|

A REAL Noom Review- The WHOLE Program & 1 Year Update

Share it up!

Inside: I used Noom for LONGER than just two weeks. Here's what really happens when you do the whole program. In this Noom Coach Review, get a look at the new Noom Weight Loss App, along with a full review and my personal results. See the pros and cons of this weight watchers alternative. I have also added a 2020 update in the Results section. Direct affiliate links are used in this post.

Noom Review Before and After photo

Hi I'm Laura, stay at home mom to two school aged kids. You can't tell but in the picture on the left, my jeans are unbuttoned and being held up by my belt, tightly fastened on the last hole.

The past several years I saw a trend in my life, starting about a week before Halloween. The first crinkle of a fun size Snickers would ring in my ears like a starting pistol.

The days and weeks that followed would see me gobbling up everything in sight, like I was Ms. Pacman and ALL THE FOOD was my power pellets. “It's the holidays, it only happens once a year” became a daily mantra. It was ridiculous.

Can you relate to my Halloween candy weakness? You'd think by now, we'd know better.

Well last year, back around my birthday in September I realized I was one pound away from the heaviest I'd ever been.

I decided to try this new weight loss program that I found. It's a paid app and, while it wasn't perfect, it was different from any other weight loss program or product out there.

I know it sounds crazy to start a weight loss program heading into the holidays, but given my past actions and results, I decided I'd be crazy NOT to!

EDITED TO ADD: I originally shared this Noom review in January 2018. I have since added my Noom before and after photos and I am also adding my thoughts over one year later on whether or not Noom helped me keep my weight off. I also added an update with the craziness of 2020! 

You might be wondering if I work for Noom, but I do not. I paid for the program myself, finished the whole program, had a great experience, lost my weight and then cancelled my membership. I DO however, proudly share my Noom Affiliate Referral Link, and you'll get a refer-a-friend link of your own if you join Noom and want to refer friends and family. If my review helps you make your decision I would love it if you joined through my referral link. (I even offer my Noom Food List Cheat Sheets as a Thank You!)

Let's take a look at the features, how it works, my review of the app, and I'll reveal my results.

Noom Coach Review: Short Version, Is It Worth It?

Noom Coach App Results and Review - Is it worth it

Below I go through each and every aspect of the Noom weight loss coach Healthy Weight Program.

If you want the short version, I'll tell you my basic impressions here.

I spent 5-10 minutes total each day using this weight loss app. Five to ten minutes, people!

Are YOU busy? I'm busy. As a mom and writer I didn't have time or opportunity for meetings or appointments. I needed something that I can squeeze into daily life. And in those 5-10 minutes I needed something different.

And given that Noom has had over 45 Million users, I don't think I'm alone in needing something different to help me with my weight loss goals.

This is truly the biggest takeaway from my entire review. If you skim over everything else, please hear this:

There is no pill, shake, supplement, food delivery service, diet or medical treatment that can help you tackle your emotional triggers and relationship with food.

You can follow any list of foods. You can drink shakes or take pills to lose weight.

But unless you face the issues that caused you to gain weight in the first place, you can gain back your weight as soon as you stop. 

Negative thinking, stress eating, boredom eating, social pressure, etc. Those don't go away. They will be there, diet or not. 

So if you have lost weight on another program, only to gain all the weight back when you stopped, ask yourself if you actually created lifelong healthy habits on that diet plan, or just followed a few guidelines for a time, and then went back to old habits. 

If you said the latter, again, you are NOT alone. It is so common, and that is why people are flocking to Noom. 

This is where Noom stands alone.

So many of us are conditioned to follow a new diet and think we can stick to some new list of foods, stare and the scale and wait for it to “fix” us. While Noom does have food lists, the focus here is on breaking your bad habits and developing new ones, so there is no “old ways” to go back to.

I read this awesome book about habits, and one lesson that the author shared an idea that totally applies to weight gain and weight loss. He said something like, “If you were flying from L.A. to New York, the pilot would only have to turn the nose of the plane mere inches at takeoff and you would land in Miami instead.”

I think we all turned the nose a few inches, years ago, to end up at our current weight. Noom helps you point the nose in the other direction. The lesson: Small changes, made daily, really add up.

That is why I would say that, for the behavior modification material alone, and the fact that it takes soooo little time, the cost of Noom Weight Loss Coach Healthy Weight Program is worth the cost, hands down.

I'm not usually one to spend money on myself, but I was tired of being uncomfortable in my skin. I needed guidance. I needed help. I needed to CHANGE. And I am WORTH paying for guidance and help.

If this speaks to you I really hope you will invest in your emotional well being and physical health at the same time, and join Noom right here.

Whatever you decide to do in the end- this plan or something else- I hope you start today. You are worth it. 

If you want to learn more about the app, feel free to read below, or you can skip to my results which are at the bottom under my weight chart.

For information about Noom's Diabetes Prevention Program instead, click here. I have not gone through that specific program, but I believe the basics of using the app are the same or similar.

I personally loved Noom because I like to choose the foods I eat each day, with some guidance to make better choices, and I don't like following meal plans that tell you what meals to cook.

If you're more interested in an app that gives you daily meal plans and exercise plans, that tells you the exact food you should eat each day, this weight loss app would be a great alternative.

It was also perfect for me because although I can be outgoing at times, I consider myself an introvert. I felt like Noom was a private, convenient way to work towards a healthy lifestyle, while still getting support from a trained professional. If you are more outgoing, you love posting your wins on social media and would benefit more from a lively, supportive online community, that's another reason to try this app instead.

Bottom Line: Noom isn't just another list of foods to follow. You can binge eat low carb foods. You can stress eat “zero point” foods. You can severely limit your calories on ANY diet. But unless you face the issues that caused you to gain weight in the first place, you can gain back your weight if you stop the diet.

Noom teaches you to make better decisions where ever you are, not just when a prescribed food list is available. The grocery store, a restaurant, a holiday party or a lazy weekend with your family.

Ready to check it out? Take their quick quiz, it's the first step. 

Noom Weight Loss Coach App Full Review

Click photo to see a video walk-through of the app. 
Noom Review

First of all, What is Noom? Noom Weight Loss Coach App is a weight loss app available for Android and iOs. (I have the iOs version on an iPhone, in case you see a slightly different screen on your device.)

If you are already using a tracker or health app of some sort, chances are it syncs with Noom. As of today the list is Fitbit (but of course!), Bewell Connect, Misfit Wearables, Biomedtrics, Movable, Moves App, Fitbug, Polar, Garmin Connect, Qardio, iHealth, Runkeeper, Jawbone UP, Sony Lifelog, Life Trak, Striiv, Lumo, Withings, Microsoft, and YOO.

When I first heard of Noom, it was on a Facebook ad that said, “You're not on MySpace Still, So Why Would You Use Weight Watchers?'” I was curious so I actually ended up having a back and forth email with them to find out How Noom is different from Weight Watchers.

What Does Noom Mean?

A lot of people write to me asking “What does Noom stand for?” Noom is not an acronym for anything. According to the founder, Noom is moon spelled backwards. because the moon is always there for your as a quiet guide when you are lost.

Joining Noom 

The day I actually joined Noom, I started by taking their Quiz to Get A Customized Plan.

They offered a short trial and after that the quiz results showed me the monthly cost. I jumped right in, knowing I was happily going to pay for it.

Like I said, if I had gained one more pound, I would have been the heaviest I ever was. I couldn't afford to give myself an easy out. 

I just needed to start today and not look back. There was no time for second guessing myself. My quiz results recommended the 4 month plan and that was perfect for me. Thinking ahead 4 months, I was SO glad I started when I did. 

When I think of all the money I have spent on unused gym memberships, shakes, larger sized clothes, workout DVDs, even sessions with nutritionists…not to mention Starbucks….this plan was the best money I have ever spent on myself.

After I joined (right here on the Noom Website) I received an email, which I opened on my phone and it had me install the app.

I also got a message from a concierge coach introducing me to the program. It took a few days but she paired me with a goal coach who matched my goals and struggles, and assigned me to a group with other people who recently joined.

What's Included in the Noom Weight Loss App? 

The Noom Weight Loss App includes several standard features that you can find in many free apps, plus the coaching by experts, a group chat and most importantly the behavior & lifestyle change program, which is doled out in small snippets throughout the program.

I added a Video Walk Through of the app on my How Does Noom Work post.

I'll talk about each feature below, but here is what you get (I bolded my favorite features which made the most difference to me):

  • Food Logging
  • Exercise Logging
  • Weight Logging
  • Expert One-On-One Check-Ins for Goal Setting
  • Group Chat with a Group Moderator
  • Searchable Recipes
  • A new way to categorize food (more about this below)
  • A behavior change education program
  • Saved Articles Folder

Features I didn't really use:

I didn't need the help section. It also does have features to record your blood glucose and log your blood pressure, which I did not use. I am sure they are helpful for people with diabetes.

How easy is Noom Coach?

Overall Noom was really easy for me to use. Like their ads show, you just hop on the app super quick throughout the day. (I walk through the Noom app in this video.)

It'll probably take you longer to read this long-winded review than it will to use Noom each day. (Feel free to skip to this quiz if you're ready to get started!)

Food Logging on Noom:

As for the food logging, I have used other apps to log my food before (fitbit, spark people and my Fitness Pal) and it functions mostly the same. You can search for foods, you can search by barcode, or you can look in the list of your most frequent foods for that meal, which pops up every time you log. You can create a new dish as well, or add something if it's not in the database. You can add as little or as much info as you have available.

There are two features I'd love to see added in the food logging section:

One is the ability to swipe a whole meal from the previous day over into today in one move. For example, I eat the same oatmeal, blueberries, almond butter and espresso almost every day for breakfast. All four or these items show up at the top of my favorite meals when I go to log my breakfast but I have to add each one. Not a huge issue but it would be a simple time saver and was one feature I miss from My Fitness Pal.

The other food logging feature I'd love is the ability to add a recipe by using a URL. We cook a lot and rather than add all the ingredients one by one, or create a dish, some apps I've used allow you to copy and paste the URL of a recipe and it pulls the info and allows you match ingredients for an accurate calorie count and then lets you select how many servings you had. Again, not a deal breaker just another way to log.

Weight logging and exercise logging:

These were both also super simple. There are reminders for each one in your menu/to-do list on the days you are supposed to do them. My steps were recorded by syncing my fitbit.

Reading the Behavior Modification Short Articles:

I found that the education/behavior modification was one of the two features that made this program totally different from anything else.

If you're wondering how they accomplish the task of helping you break bad habits, Noom accomplishes this behavior modification feat with super quick and fun short daily articles in your daily menu/to-do list. I'd read them while I was waiting for the kids to get shoes on, in line at the grocery store, waiting for an elevator, that kind of thing.

I liked the light, fun, very slightly self deprecating tone they used (referring to themselves as nerds, that kind of thing). I will say I noticed a change in the tone of writing part way through. It became less light and chummy and more matter of fact. I don't know if it was because we don't really need it at that point, or if the objectives change. Either way I didn't mind, it was just kinda noticeable.

Food color system on Noom

The Noom Diet uses a green, yellow, red system, like a traffic light, to help you easily categorize food. This was the other feature that I found truly unique and helpful. All foods are allowed under Noom's system, and no foods at all are off limits. Even that glass of wine at the end of the day, if it fits in your budget.

Part of the customization is to give you a daily recommended goal for each food group.

I ended up making a Noom Food Lists printable pack for myself. You can get a copy too, by joining my newsletter, in case any other Noom users would like a copy. It's not a replacement for the app itself- it won't be of much use unless you plan to join. 

You're supposed to have foods of each color, every day. Noom is different from weight watchers in the way it categorizes food. Also, unlike weight watchers you can figure out the classification for any food if you can see (or look up) the calories for it based on simple math. Although the app does it for you while you are doing the program, it just means that you don't need to be a lifelong member in order to figure out how many points something is.

I'm not going to lie. The first week I did noom, ALL my foods were red foods. ALL. Like. Every one. (Related: Here are my Tips for the First Week of Noom)

First Week Vs Last Week on Noom

I went over my suggested calorie count. Every day. But that was okay. It was the first week. It was so eye opening to see the foods that were getting me my current “results”. Over time it became very habitual to eat with a better balance based on their food system.

I think the food guidance for me was good because it gave me permission again to eat fruits and vegetables. It's weird to say it but I always saved them for my kids. And I never liked taking the time to make food for myself. I'd feed everyone else and kinda just shove a couple slices of cheese in my mouth.

Having the color coded food system is validation to treat my body right again. “I'm worthy of healthy foods.” And that took a while to realize. When you battle with your weight, you can even use fruits and veggies to beat yourself up. Deep, right?

Goal Specialist Check Ins

The personal coaching aspect was unexpectedly helpful. There are several terms you could use to describe this person. Whether you call him or her a Goal Coach, Goal specialist, health coach, weight loss coach or one-on-one coach, I was curious who these people really were, so I asked. Noom Goal Specialists include but are not limited to registered dietitians, Exercise Physiologists, Social Workers, Certified Personal Trainers. 

My Goal Specialist checked in with me once a week to talk about the previous week, to see if I met my previous goal(s) and to help me set a specific goal or goals for the coming week. If you've ever had an accountability buddy, imagine having one who is trained in helping people meet their goals. That is what this is like.

This was easy, and done over a private chat from within the app, usually just 2-4 quick text replies (although she was always available for more, I found this more than sufficient). The weekly goal was never dictated to me, it was always a goal I suggested.

My Noom one-on-one goal specialist helped me if I was stuck, and walked me along the process of making it specific, measurable, realistic. We also talked about ways I would accomplish my goal, as well as troubleshoot any upcoming challenges or recent short falls. Like once I went to take my daughter out for lunch with some of her friends and their moms, and found myself relenting to the table's desire to order pizza. Then I ate like waaay too much pizza. It was my own decision and no one else is to blame, but I wanted to have some ideas for the next time. So we talked about how I could handle that next time something like that came up.

There was never any sense of judgement or right or wrong. The goal coaches (and group coaches…and group mates for that matter) are all supportive, empathetic and kind. I say coaches, because they are real people and twice during my program my main goal coach had the day off and another goal coach would cover for her. I was never without support.

I actually kind of loved the fact that I basically had a certified, knowledgable accountability partner that wasn't someone in my everyday life, you know?f

That said, you get what you put into it. I engaged heavily with my goal specialist and was rewarded with helpful personal coaching. If you don't engage and actually talk with your goal specialist, you will not get all those benefits.

Group Chats

Again, nothing hard here, you do as much or as little as you like in this section. There is a group coach who moderates the group. She posts regular prompts to get us talking but people also post their successes, struggles, healthy meals, workouts achieved, milestones reached, and ask questions when they need help. Some days I go through and reply to several posts at once, some weeks I just read and don't think to comment. I really liked the times when someone shared a struggle and we, as a group, brainstormed ways the person could handle the issue. I felt it was a really respectful and supportive way to get ideas or see how others handled that problem.

Pro Tip: I also found some unofficial support groups on facebook that are also full of supportive Noomers. I don't run any of them but I found them helpful. Just use the search bar on facebook for Noom Support.

Searchable Noom Recipes

Oddly enough I didn't use the recipes all that much, even though we have been cooking a lot. They look good and the app is easy to use, but I just happened to get recipes from other places.

Saved Articles Folder

I loved this feature and in hindsight I wish I used it more. I'd love the ability to search previously read articles. They are still in each day's menu after you read them but in order to go back to one to review it, you either have to have clicked save or you have to remember what day it was. I wish I could search for key words from the days I really liked. There were a couple days where I'd have an off day and I thought, Oh I need to review that one article but I didn't save it.

Help Section

I didn't need it. The main questions seem to be pretty basic app questions as well as how to cancel your trial, which as I said above, I had no need for. I knew this was the program for me, and truth be told, if I'd have done the trial and cancelled and gone back to my normal habits, then I know I would have gained that “one more pound” so I didn't give myself the option.

Canceling Noom Account

Noom doesn't want you to be a lifelong member. You can use it for life, but they're not trying to get you to use it for life. They want you to break your bad habits, develop new healthy habits and move on.

Each Noom program lasts for a set number of weeks depending on your goal and the program chosen. You pay for that session of the program all at once. You go through the program, and if you are done, you can cancel with your goal specialist as you near your last day, otherwise it will bill you for another session. So if you want to be done at the end of your first program, just let you coach know. It's like most any other subscription…they will keep billing you until you cancel.

I messaged my goal specialist about a month before my program ended and I asked her to set the cancellation date at the last day that I have paid for. I did it so far in advance because I didn't want to space out and forget. But I still had full access until that last day of the session. When my coach submitted it, the system sent me record of the scheduled cancellation right in the app chat window. They also have a Noom Customer Support Page for any additional questions or issues, but I never needed it.

Easy peasy.

And that is the point. Like I said, they actually help you develop long term habits that do not rely on the app. You don't need to become a lifetime member of noom.

After You Cancel Noom

A lot of people ask me once you cancel your Noom subscription, do you lose access to the app? I'm writing this in 2020 and I still have the free app on my phone. I can tell you that you still have the ability to log food with colors, log your weight and exercise, and see your previously entered food & weight data. What you lose access to when you cancel is the daily lessons, the goal specialist and the group chat. You also can no longer sync your fitbit, in my experience. Also you do not have access to the saved articles, since the articles are part of the paid portion.

Personally I miss the lessons, and I really appreciated how they made me think so mindfully each day about some aspect of my healthy habits. Otherwise I am pretty much on autopilot when it comes to the habits I developed…which is exactly the point of noom! Win!!

My Noom App Results

I started Noom in September 2017 with an awesome group of “noomers” so it has actually been pretty cool now that 16 weeks has gone by, to see everyone celebrating all the weight they lost- even though we all did it during the holidays!!!

Here is my Noom Weight Loss Chart, to which I have added some fun icons to show where the holidays fell. According to Noom, 64% of users lose 5% or more of their body weight, and 60% maintain the loss for one year or more. I am one of those users for sure!
Noom coach resultsSo there is my chart, starting in September around my birthday, going to Jan 4th. It has ups and downs, as you can see. On previous diets I would have viewed these ups as failures but because this is not a diet, and because of the coaching and behavior education I can instead see them as just another day in my weight loss experience.

It may not be as impressive as Brandy or Cobie, but while on Noom I lost 17 pounds. That was 1 pound more than my pre-set goal weight, and many of my groupmates have lost quote a bit more in the same time. 13 pounds over 16 weeks is typical, but a lot of people have added comments

below with their results as well.

You can see above that I did go back up over Christmas but considering my previous routine of plowing right through the holidays towards a bigger size in jeans, and considering how equipped I am to stay on track, I am pretty much fine with that- AND ready to keep going.

I have made so many improvements, I feel better, happier, my back pain is gone. I have better self esteem and I know how to handle my triggers.

I have control again. And that is my result. 

December 2019 Update: It's been over a year since I started and I am happy to report that I am BELOW my Noom goal weight. I could not be more ecstatic with these changes. I still use my Noom Food List Cheat Sheets as reminders of my go-to favorite foods of each color. I still log my foods, but when you stop paying for noom, you only have access to the logging portions (no Goal Experts, Group or Daily Lessons). 

October 2020 Update: Holy cheese and crackers, did that year throw you for a loop? Because it sure was crazy for us. Here is my 2020 Noom update. As a Noom user I cancelled my membership after the first program ended. After I wrote about it, I was getting a lot of questions so now I'm paying for my Noom account each month, just to be able to answer questions for readers. I do log my food but during the unexpected changes of 2020 I actually went through the program again and I'll tell you why.

Everything about my previously established routine went out the door this year. Did that happen for you too?? I actually had an awesome daily routine, and had tackled so many bad habits. But suddenly having my fast-food-loving hubby home for every meal, and having my hundred-snacks-a-day kids here every day….well….I decided there were new triggers to tackle. I reached out to my Goal specialist and asked to restart my lessons and I went one by one through the new facets of my “new normal.”  

I'm not one of those people who came out of this with a rock hard body, working out all the time (however I am proud of anyone who has!). But I am also still wearing the same size jeans as when I started and I have to count that as a win. I'm so grateful for the Noom process to give me some sort of positive focus during all this. 

Summer 2021 Update: Same jeans!! Plus, I am walking more than ever, and I love earning my 99Walks bracelets every month, wish I had found that program earlier on my Noom Journey. Want to come join me? Use my 99Walks Link or the code LAURAMARSCHEL245 to get a free trial plus a discount if you choose to join.

So after all that has gone on over the past couple years, let me ask you:

If you started today and lost 1-2 pounds per week, where would you be by Thanksgiving, by Christmas, by New Years, by your birthday, by that next vacation?

Ready to check it out? Take their quick quiz, it's the first step. 

Lose Weight for Good with Noom, try it free!
Have you already used Noom? Would you like to share your story or before and after photos? Send an email to info @ lalymom . com. (Take out the spaces.) 

Noom Weight Loss App Program Review and Results - No more diets Sign me up!

Thank you for reading my 2018 Noom Coach Review and Results, I hope it helps you on your journey!

Share Your Noom Success Story in the comments below.

Note: I do not work for Noom so I can't answer questions about your account. You'll have better luck if you head to Noom Customer Support Page

I tried to add my Noom review video at the top, but in case it didn't show up, here is the video review as well:

Before and After photos for Noom

Share it up!

Similar Posts

146 Comments

  1. I did noom from October 2017 to March 2018. I had been successful on WW back before children, in the dark ages when you ate liver once a week. The last time I tried WW (Points Plus) I gained. I’ve been borderline overweight since I had kids and was seeing my weight creep up and my blood pressure as well.

    I did noom and am now at a weight I haven’t seen since I was 20-something in 1985. I learned so much and found this to be a great app. They aren’t selling you bars, drinks or pre-packaged meals. I made a commitment and finally realized the diet isn’t hurt if I cheat. Just me.

    1. Thank for sharing and congrats on the weight loss – I just started my journey a few days ago and your story is very motivating and inspiring ❤️

    2. Thanks so much for posting your comment! I have been intrigued by Noom for a while but leery of trying it since it seems like all of the programs are aimed at 20-somethings and aren’t so effective for ‘women of a certain age’… your comment is the clincher- I’m going to download the app now!

        1. Yes! I have failed so many times with so many programs but I am excited and think this may just work for me. I lost my husband, the love of my life and I am trying to keep it together. This seems like the way to go. Thank you for sharing your experience.

      1. I turned 65 this week and am at my highest weight ever (218). I have got to do something and I know my problem is more mental, laziness, bad habits, self-deprecating comments, etc. I do feel I need a coach to help me overcome the things that shut me down, discourage me, and pave the way for the trip down the rabbit hole. I think I will sign up for NOOM. Please pray and cheer me on.
        Cheryl

        1. Hi Everyone,

          After going through menopause, I gained 14 lbs and I weigh the most I have ever weighed in my life. I just started Noom and have learned so much. Its a very flexible and realistic app. I used to do Fitness Pal, but I find the Noom app easier to use and understand with the color coding method. Please join. I don’t want to be alone. 🙂

          Carolyn

          1. Hi, I am considering joining Noom and your post has really made me decide on taking this leap of faith. I went in to surgical menopause when I was 35 and am now 45 with 15 pounds I cant seem to get rid of. I pray this works for em as well, thank you for the feedback.

          2. HI Carolyn, I can relate. I’m going to be 62 soon and gained over 20 lbs from menopause. I’m walk 3-5 mi/day and eat “right” but can’t lose it 🙁 So I’m trying noom. I tried WW and it didn’t work. I’m hopeful this will. I think just having to report my eating (wine drinking :[) to someone else might help me cut back. Best, Ellen

          3. Carolyn so happy for your post. Same here with menopause. The NOOM program is helping me as well. I’m down 5 pounds thankfully and love the support and color system this has. Best of,luck to you! We’ve got this. Kathleen

        2. Hi Cheryl, I’m Michele and I joined September 17. Similar age 69 and weight 205. So far I’m learning the ropes and each day it becomes more clear with the help of Eva my coach. I’m enjoying this challenge and hope This time I succeed. Let’s pray for each other?

          1. I am joining today. So glad there are other ladies out there around my age. I turned 66 last Thursday and I need to lose 25 lb. I have lost it many many times before. any plan you follow work but as soon as you go off it or I go off and I gain it back. So I was looking for a non-diet lifestyle and I think this is it.

          2. Would love an update from the 60+ ladies … in the same boat. 64 and 60 pounds overweight. I’ve got to get control of myself. I “know” what I need to do, just can’t stick to it.

          3. I’m 62 and joined noom January 6th. It’s now March 4th and I’m down 19.2#. I’m also a lifetime member of Weight Watchers and lost 20-40-65# through WW but always gained it back each time. I struggled constantly with cravings. Since joining noom I haven’t had any cravings at all. Zero. It was really good for me to read this post because I was wondering how people are doing long term. I really feel this program is different for all the reasons mentioned.

        3. Cheryl,
          I totally could have written your post. Same with Michele. I am 66 and weigh 198. I was reading this to make sure it wasn’t some kind of scam. Sounds legit and I am going to try. Hopefully I will get in a group with you two.

          Nancy

        4. Cheryl,
          I feel similar. I’m 55 this year and weigh more than I ever have. Your comments could be mine. Bad thoughts, bad habits, self-recriminations…. I used to be thin and it was easy to stay that way. Since I turned 39, (right around the time my kids were becoming teenagers!!) I started putting on weight. Then I owned a small local business (a women’s gym of all things!) and really started packing on the pounds. I think my problem is stress eating. So yeah, it’s mental. I just signed up for Noom today. My business closed at the end of October and I’m finally starting to feel free of it so it’s time to start dropping the weight. –Heather

          1. Hi Ladies,

            I just turned 60 this year and really feel its time to take control of my bad eating habits. After a divorce 5 years ago and ending a very toxic relationship 9 months ago, I have been doing alot of emotional eating and gained back all the weight I lost after my divorce(due to stress and not eating). I’ve had enough of feeling bad and want to get on track with healthy eating and feeling better about myself. My goal is to not only lose weight but to continue this healthy lifestyle with self love.
            Christel

        5. Hi Cheryl, my name is Cheryl also!! This is my 6th day on Noom. I am 62 and my start weight was 228. I have lost 2 lbs already! This has truly been an eye opening experience. In this short time, I have had some revelations from the lessons that I’ve read. They helped me to identify areas which cause me to use food as a comfort. I was skeptical at first but the longer I use the app the more convinced I am that this program will work for me. I hope you have much success in your journey!! Cheryl

        6. Please try noom! I am 66 and was also at my highest weight of my life. I am almost done with my 4 month course and have lost 18 lbs. I may go for another 4 months.

      2. I am that woman “of a certain age” and I wondered the same thing…but I can tell you that IT WORKS. I started 30 days before I retired, determined to stop that scale from it’s slow and steady climb over the years and help me enjoy a healthy retirement. I was successful on WW in spurts but when they changed the program to Freestyle I went off the rails and never went back. I thought counting points was pretty easy – but counting calories is SO MUCH EASIER and very straightforward. And you don’t have to be on noom forever to keep the calculations going. Noom is so different. It really helps you change the habits/thoughts that put you in a weight-gain frame of mind to begin with. I first thought the catchy app phrases were more for the younger set, but I came to appreciate the light touch for a serious subject. Love the daily snippets of information (learn so much) that keep things short but pack a powerful punch for the day. I should reach my goal in 3 weeks but I intend to stick with noom. It’s a wonderful program. Good luck on your journey!

      3. I am 36 yrs old and been on Noom for 5 weeks and i ve lost 9 lbs! It really is a journey that I am enjoying to do for myself! We’re worth it! ?

    3. I have successfully been doing WW until the Christmas holidays but I’m very attracted to Noom. Your experience is very encouraging. I have a week vacation with family in the mountains and plan to do some more research before a final decision. Thank you, Sally

    4. Same! I am finishing up my 6 months with Noom and also lost beyond my goal weight. I weigh less than I did on my wedding day 25 years ago which is quite remarkable. I credit Noom for helping me get there. Now that I’ve cancelled my subscription I’m a little nervous about living without the daily accountability, but hope that what I’ve learned and practiced will be my new normal from now on. Don’t want to go back to what I used to think was my body’s “normal weight!” Thanks for the great review and free printables!! ?

    5. Thank you for such a great review! I just started the trial today. I’m a hair away from convinced that I’ll do the program now. Appreciate your candid review! Congrats on your achievement!!

    6. Hello and thank you for your review. I read it in its entirety and I think I’m not as afraid as I was yesterday. This is my first day and one meal in. I should know this by heart by now, I’m 63 and newly retired. I suffered a foot injury in the beginning of July, 2019 and have been mostly sedentary since then and I was already was battling weight gain. I think my foot is healed and maybe a week or two before it is at 100% again. I really don’t know what to say or ask but I think the coach part is what I’m most looking forward to and I hope that is works for me. Not usually a me or I person so I’ve got to get use to that aspect of of it. Thank you again.

    7. I have been throwing around the idea of joining Noom for a few weeks. I have read some great reviews but none of them seemed “real”, if that makes sense. This was exactly what I needed. Thank you!

    8. Thank you so much for this article! My free trial was almost over and I was looking for a long term review to justify keeping the program. Your story is so relatable (first week all red foods, leaving the fruits & veggies for the kids, etc) that it motivated me to keep going. I wish I stumbled on this before I signed up so you could get the referral. Thanks!

    9. I’ve been looking into this for a few weeks now. I do have a question tho. I am absolutely 100% anti vegetable. I eat 2 or 3, which are not good ones for a diet. I have about 75 pounds to lose. I have had 9 spinal surgeries so I don’t do much for exercise simply because I’m unable to. Is this a program that can still help my picky, gimpy butt out?

  2. I just started Noom a few days ago and am enjoying it so far, came here to see your thoughts on it! Awesome job on the weight loss it’s inspiring to me because I have been unhappy about my weight for a while. Also your point about how we can punish ourselves with fruits and veggies – ugh, so true. I always beat myself up because I know how much I am willing to take care of others but not myself. Thanks for this article!!

  3. “I think the food guidance for me was good because it gave me permission again to eat fruits and vegetables. It’s weird to say it but I always saved them for my kids.”
    This statement is SO me. I somehow thought that the yummy fruits and veggies I bought were just for everyone else in the house… like I didn’t deserve them or something. It’s twisted.
    I signed up for the $1 trial and LOVE the app. I just wish it wasn’t so darn expensive. I’ve lost weight since I started and would love to continue, but this plus my fitness membership would be $200 per month. Ain’t nobody got money for that! 🙁

    1. It is so weird how we categorize the food like that, I’m glad we are doing something about it!! I know what you mean, I workout at home right now so I don’t have a gym membership but it adds up for sure. BEST WISHES!!

  4. I just started my third week of Noom – I was only going to do the free trail and hope I would get some good habits started and then quit – but I decided to extend for one billing period. I’ve lost 5 lbs since starting Noom and I really like that they don’t say something is off limits. It’s just that if you calculate your caloric goal and then calculate the calories to eat that thing you really want to eat – you have no more calories for the rest of the day (if you want to meet your caloric goal). And it’s your decision whether to starve the rest of the day or totally blow your goal for the day. There are some great articles to read and great habits to really start working towards and incorporating. I hear you on all the red foods! That was pretty much m whole diet before Noom as well.

  5. I so appreciate your thorough, thoughtful review of Noom. Like you, I’d seen those ads on FB and had been curious. I signed up last night and am starting to track food and activity today. It was so helpful to see what you wrote about your first week being all red foods. Thanks for sharing that! I know how useful it can be to log what I eat (from doing WW years ago), but it’s also a little daunting (dang, that gluten free sausage cheese quiche took a chunk out of my available calories, thank goodness I’m going to pilates tonight). Just wanted to say thanks for your positive review — it’s helping me invest more faith in this app and myself.

  6. Ok. So I look up reviews on almost everything before I purchase and sometimes afterwards. I too saw Noon ad on FB. Giving it a try. So far I like it and have actually learned a few things. Love the color coding. Thank you for emphasizing this is not a lifelong billed monthly kind if thing. Reach your goals, learn to make better choices, dont beat yourself up, and carry on.
    I think I’ve made a right decision in using this app/program.

  7. I really enjoyed your insights. I’m currently on WW and although I’ve been successful in the past, it’s not the right fit at this time. For me. Maybe it’s my age or it’s the endless saga of weight loss/management/whole food/should I be vegan/how many points is this/give us 12 weeks for a beach bod. I don’t know. What I do know is that I need a kick start and I need accountability. Is Noom the one? And money is an issue. Of course it is. I’ll keep researching. But you’ve helped. Thanks.

    1. I have also had success on WW; 89 pounds and I have kept off 28 of it for 10 years. I miss the weekly meetings and the accountability I got from the woman who ran them. She is no longer there and I haven’t been able to get into the online program. I signed up for Noom last night and I am liking it. I hope the “text me if I don’t log” feature is what I’m needing…

  8. Do you feel that you lost weight according to goal that noom set for you when you put in your goal weight

    1. Hi Ericka, I did, yes. It’s been several months since I finished my Noom program and I am still at my goal weight. My goal wasn’t too extreme, I think when I did the quiz it was something like 15 or 16 pounds in about as many weeks.

  9. I’m starting day 5 on the NOOM diet today and LOVE it!! I too have children and several serious illnesses that limit my ability to exercise very much, so I desperately needed a diet that wouldn’t stress me more!! The app is so user friendly and I LOVE the recipes. I’ve used at least one/ day… quick and easy. One of my biggest obstacles in the past is not knowing what to eat and this app takes away that stress with their recipes, calorie log/budget, color wheel of food categories. Also has a built in pedometer!! They set a goal for you everyday. I have lost 3 1/2 pounds in 5 days already!!!!!!!!… I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this diet thus far and am looking forward to the next few weeks.

  10. I’ve just started noom this week and I am already down 5lbs. I have a long way to go..something like 90 lbs(outch). I did weight watcher about 15 years ago..I lost 60 on that, but the point count drove me insane. So far this seems much easier. We will see how much I lose in a billing period.

    1. Well tell your friend that I logged every glass of wine. 🙂 I didn’t always have calories left at the end of the day but if I did and I felt like a glass of wine at the end of the day, I felt pretty comfortable with making that decision.

    2. One night I had 3 glasses of Chardonnay and an enchilada with my kids, and an ice cream bar. BUT the noticeable thing I’d I had ONLY ONE enchilada and my wine was 4 0z per glass and I sipped not guzzled
      And made it last. Usually wine makes me eat a whole pie. Next morning I had lost another pound. I got right back on it and so the splurge wasn’t the end of the world. I eat everything—just less and slower. 8 weeks and 11 pounds. I’m happy—because I can eat this way forever. I’m 64 yrs—started at 165 aiming for 145 Susie

  11. Thank you for this article. I signed up last Monday and have lost 5 lbs and feeling terrific. I was a little worried though about all the claims that Noom is a scan on Facebook. You have helped me make the decision to stick to this program. I’m looking forward to finally getting down to a healthy weight and staying there. And I love what I’m experiencing so far.

    1. Yay so glad to hear it! I really helped me. Here I am almost a year after I started noom, still at my goal weight. 🙂 Best wishes and congrats on committing to yourself, you deserve it!!

  12. Thank you for your insightful review! I wasn’t sure about “taking the plunge” but after reading your review – I am diving in! Congratulations on you success!! Thanks again.

  13. I just started NOOM… Like literally! I’m optimistic in this program working. I’ve tried everything else, so why not give this a shot! Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your weight loss. I am ready to start my…’the rest of my life’ journey!

  14. Pingback: - LalyMom
  15. This is really tempting. WW was helpful years ago but got tired of meetings etc. My Fitness Pal has always worked in recent years but not this time. My exercise has been severally limited by a hysterectomy a year ago and then a herniated disc in January and while I’m out walking again most days I’ve been Fitness Pal logging in for 2-3 weeks at 1200 calories and got nothin! I’ve fought with my weight since about age 17 with varying results though most of my years before 50 I won with lots of aerobic classes. Only time it was easy was during my late husbands final days and after his death. That is not a weight loss program that anyone wants. Six years later the black days are gone and the 20 lbs are back….. Can this work when my ability to move is all over the map?

  16. Hi. I started Noom yesterday and I loved how all encompassing the app is. I walked today for the first time in a long time just because I wanted to see the distance added to my exercise setting! I like the color charts too. I am an art teacher and the visual colors really help to guide me to make better choices. Your article was very thorough. Thanks!

  17. I joined Noom 3 weeks ago and I have lost 6 pounds so far. After gaining weight with kids and no longer being able to blame “baby weight” as the cause (since it has been 18 years), I decided it was time to try something new. This is not to say that in the past 18 years I haven’t tried other programs (Atkins, Keto, Paleo, Weight Watchers, Nutrisystem, etc). I know it’s only been 3 weeks, but there is just something “different” and exciting about this weight loss plan. I think for me, I needed to be in the right mindset to take it seriously and not give up so quickly, which as always been my biggest issue with weight loss success. I have realized and accepted that this is going to take time and learning that new habits and breaking old habits plays a huge contribution to overall success. I look forward to logging on to my Noom app each day and checking off my list of “to do’s”. I also love that I was able link my Fitbit to the Noom app for an accurate daily step count.
    If you are “truly” ready in mind and spirit…GO FOR IT! What do you have to lose (except weight, of course)? 🙂

  18. Thanks so much for writing this review. I was on the fence with Noom but I’m jumping in. I’ve lost 90 lbs on my own in the last 18 months, by mindful eating and reducing portion size. I have maintained the 90 lb loss for 5 months but I still have 30 to goal and… It. Just. Won’t. Budge. .

    Enrolled in Noom after your review … about to download the app
    But wanted to say a quick word of thanks for your help. Feeling hopeful! Thanks again … V

  19. I have just signed up for NOOM and after reading all these comments, I am hopeful!!! I too am on WW and am not able to lose, so I guess we will see how this works.
    Unfortunately it is a Sunday afternoon so my coach is not there, but excited to see tomorrow what it is all about!!!

  20. This seems to be a good fit for me. Maybe. Im gonna give it a try. I am 45 yrs old and I am desperate for a cha he. I need to lose about 50 lbs. I cant imagine doing that in 16 weeks but I am certainly goint to get as close as possible.

    1. Hi April, almost same here 44yo and 56 pounds to loose. I am at the end of the trial period and I was really considering quitting but all these reviews gave me hope whereas deeply inside I was « hoping » to see bad reviews to confort me I was right to quit. You helped my decision and i will not cancel after the 2weeks trial thanks to you all.
      April, I’d love to hear about your results as we are quite similar in age and weight goal.
      Thanks, Sylvie

        1. You guys! It has been two years since these posts and I am so curious how you are doing now. I’m 40and just has my third baby. He’s 11 weeks and I am signing up for Noom tonight. I was so motivated by your posts and would love to know how you did and if you kept the weight off.

  21. Hey, I’ve just been on Noom a week and feel much better after hearing your calorie intake was over every day! It’s super hard, especially as the Android version doesn’t currently have the option to add your own recipe, so I’m having to guess some of the calories. I tried to find the link to your downloadable Noom food lists (after signing up 🙂 ) but the link doesn’t seem to be there? Can you help?

    Thanks!
    Katherine 🙂

  22. Started week 5 of Noom today. Kept seeing it pop up on Instagram and eventually started reading reviews. Yours is what ultimately led me to do the trial. After 2 weeks and 4# down, I was hooked. Thank you for your insight into the program!

  23. I broke my leg a year ago and gained too much weight. Your comment, “If I gained one more pound I would be at my heaviest ever” hit me right between the eyes. I just can’t have that. I joined yesterday and checked your article today. Glad I did. So far the app seems great. The doctor okayed my exercise (tennis and pickleball) as long as I can tollerate it, so I am off and running. I also ordered a waterproof fitness watch that should sync with noom. I’ve got about 35 pounds to lose which seems impossible at the moment, but all of this is gving me hope. Thanks!

  24. I joined NOOM on September 2 – one month later I am down 7.5 lbs (average 1.75 lbs per week) More importantly, I am feeling better. I am looking at my eating habits in a whole new way. It’s about training your brain – it’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change.

  25. Love your review! Chiming in with a thumbs up for noom. I, too, am an introvert and a busy person. Love the quick articles, checkins with my Goal Specialist, and easy to follow everything. Down 35 lbs and counting since this May. Aiming for another 15. Feeling like I’ve learned not only how to lose weight, but also how to make good choices, and to really enjoy my food – whether it’s a healthy salad or a piece of chocolate cake. It has helped me remove the guilt I used to have around food and eating. No foods are off limits. You eat what you want to eat – and after you have learned about what drives your choices, that becomes easier every day. I’ve also become much more active – something that seemed too hard before, but again – with learning what drives my choices, the lifestyle changes other than eating have been supported.

    Noom is not compensating me in any way for these comments. I really love it!

  26. Thank you so much for your review! This is helping me make my decision to enroll in Noom. I have a bad sweet tooth and a stressful job. I dont have kids but I have a husband who I take really good care of but do not extend that care to myself. Now it’s my turn! Wish me luck!

  27. I started Noom on Sept 8th. Here it is a month later and I am down 14 lbs. Have 45 to go. The greatest part for me about Noom is the accountability. The coach doesn’t scold you or anything but it is just the fact that you are discussing it with someone who wants you to succeed and I would hate to let them down (as well as myself). The app is super simple to use daily. It is nice in a way that you could actually “schedule” all of your meals on the app (providing you stick to what you put into each meal slot) and you can then easily look (calorie wise) and decide whether you can stop and have a beer or wine with friends. Their foods list is pretty comprehensive so it’s easy to add items you eat. They do a really great job of explaining the psychology of eating as well as losing weight. You put a lot more thought into what you eat, that’s for sure. I will stay with this program until I am comfortably doing it all by myself.
    Side note, I don’t normally put up reviews but this program has worked the best for me so you’re gonna hear about it.

  28. Wow that is awesome to read. I just joined the free trial and was doubting I made the right choice. But, with the great review I am going to give it a shot!

    Thank you for your article and all the people posting.

  29. I just read your review. I am pretty stoked to try this as nothing has really worked or fit me I should say. I am currently at my heaviest and feel I’m getting bigger. It’s hurting me emotionally and taking a toll on my relationship. I pray this works for me.

  30. I’ve struggled with 25 extra pounds off and on most of my life. I’ve tried MANY diet plans. Noom works people! You read the above article. It’s definitely mind over matter, changing eating habits and much more. I’ve lost 18 lbs in 8 weeks, exercise at a minimal if at all. I typically get 10k steps in a day, sometimes more. I love it! It’s definitely changing your mind and habits and that’s the trick!

  31. I am finishing my 16 week program this week. I am 52, and have been overweight my entire adult life. I starred at 205 and by Wednesday, my last day, will be 175, fingers crossed, 1.5 pounds to go!
    Noom taught me to eat correctly for the first time, I am educated, I realize the calories in calories out principle. But this was different from any diet I had tried. This wasn’t a diet. There is nothing off limits, you really see where foods fit into your plan. After losing weight going low carb, I found it unsustainable. This program I have whole grain bread and fruits! Real food! No shakes or bars.
    Also I was feeling horrible before I started, headaches every day, I mean every day. Within a week, gone. I think it is the eating more regularly. All I know is it worked for me when nothing else did. I am going to be on my own for a while and see how I fare, then if needed I will sign back up for New Years for a boost!

    1. Hi Cathleen, thank you for your comment. I have been looking into starting Noom but like most people am very worried that this is a lot of money and is it just another phase thing that is on the market, but reading these reviews and comments i am more interested, especially with your comment about how you had headaches every day, because i am the same constant chronic migranes every day, these on top of my health problems and mental health deterioration more so after I had a total hysterectomy putting me into surgical menopause at the age of 37 has really taken a massive down wood spiral in both my weight, mental state and poor eating habits, let alone zero ability to any physical activity. Like many i have joined a gym but went a few times and not gone back, mainly because i have so little energy and have these bad headaches daily that going to the gym just makes my headaches and body temperature so hot that i end up vomiting, so I think i like many others need to have advice from others who are in similar positions to me, that are willing to reply and share there journeys since they have been using noom, of how it has helped them or not and if you honestly believe it could help me and mostly that it is really worth the expensive cost for they subscription, your long term results and reviews of your experiences would really be appreciated and any further advice you could give me would rreally be grateful for me to decide if i am going to take the plunge and subscribe to noom with you all.
      Also a big thank you for this detailed review, it is very helpful to explain how it all works. Thank you all for any replys in advance.

  32. I exercise 1 hour almost daily since early 2013 using P90X which really worked great on the first couple of years. But after that the changes stopped and I’m stuck before I reach my weight goal. I added dancing and nope that didn’t help either. I still weighed 10 pounds more where I want to be. Reading this blog, I was intrigue by the Noom app. I decided to sign up for a full year ($199). Started Noom last August 17, a week before my 59th birthday. I reached my weight goal within 10 weeks of using this app. I finally found that missing key. Thank you Laura!

  33. I’m so glad I found this recommendation!! I joined Noom yesterday. I, along with the majority of other people commenting here, tried Weight Watchers several times. I lost some in the beginning, but the past 3 changes to the program have not been good for me at all. I decided to try the $1 trial, but as soon as I saw how it worked I went for the 4-month program. All of you are so encouraging and I am thrilled that I decided to try this! I need to lose 39 pounds and it should be gone by March. I love the idea of a coach plus a support group. I really feel like I can do this!! Good luck to all who are trying it for the first time, and thank you, Laura, for showing me that it can be done!! 🙂

  34. I just love reading all of these positive posts about Noom! I signed up a week ago and have lost 5 pounds. I knew it was time to do something after hitting my heaviest weight, EVER, even since pregnancy. Ugh! Not good! So far the psychology is working for me and I am excited to hit my weight loss goal of 30 pounds. This app is excellent and would recommend to anyone that has tried WW. SO much better!

  35. I’m tired of spending money and working hard to lose 40+ pounds only to gain it right back. Dealing with the emotional issues and accountability seem like the missing puzzle pieces. Will give it a try and see what happens!

  36. I’ve been using Noom for 7 weeks now and really love it! The behavior helps us what really makes the program shine, but I also love that there are no “bad” or “evil” foods. They just advocate moderation. The color food system has actually helped a lot. The visual aspect just makes it easy to understand. I’ve lost 6 lbs., so I’m still on my journey to be down 30 lbs, but they are also teaching me to recognize all kinds of wins and successes, not just what I see on the scale. I can’t recommend Noom enough!

  37. Thanks for such an inspirational post Laura! I just signed up with Noom yesterday and I will be at my ideal weight in April 2019! I think this is just what I need to help me drop 40 lbs. but also live a newly changed life where I can keep the weight off for good.

  38. Just wanted to say I really enjoyed your article. I have a PhD in Nutrition with a focus in behavior change. I have been looking for something to suggest to clients and friends that would help them change their behaviors rather than changing to another diet. Your review was excellent. I’m glad to see it helped you change your behavior and see your nutrition needs in a positive light.

  39. I’m on Day 11 and love it. I’m finding it easy to follow. I’ve lost a little over 4 pounds so nothing to write home about but I haven’t felt deprived or disheartened. I’m staying within calories and meeting my daily step goals. I don’t use the word “diet” . I use the word “menu” in an effort to reframe how I think about the food choices I make. The food colors are helpful and I love the lighthearted way they “talk”.

    I’m 59 years old. I’ve done WW, Jenny Craig, South Beach, etc. I lost weight on every program but once I went off the diet I gained it all back and then more. I don’t like the group part of WW. I don’t like the food part of Jenny Craig and I can’t sustain the narrow choice of foods in South Beach. I feel like I can do Noom forever. Of course, ask me in a year! I started at 186.8 and my goal is 150, so I have a long way to go. I try not to focus on anything beyond today and that goal is very overwhelming to me.

    That’s another great thing about Noom. The pyschology lessons they teach to help me understand my triggers and the type of eater I am. Simply being aware helps change it.

    If you’re thinking of trying it, I’m an advocate.

  40. Thank you, Laura, for just the push I needed! I’ve tried WW so many times and they are constantly changing their program and I can’t eat any of their prepared foods (so much junk in there). I needed something to address the psychological aspect of my weight struggles. I could totally relate to your Halloween candy addiction (I literally gained like 10 pounds because of Halloween this past year – I just watched myself eat candy every day until it was gone – what is up with that?). Sigh. I’ve got about 40 pounds to lose and I have some things working against me (meds that cause weight gain, possibly going through menopause early because of chemo for breast cancer last year, multiple systemic autoimmune issues and chronic migraines that are caused by just about everything, including some foods, alcohol and exercise). I know that I need to find out what works, regardless of these obstacles, so that I can be as healthy as I can be! I hope NOOM helps. Signed up today for the free trial, so I could check out the app. Your overview helped a lot. Thanks!

    1. After reading your review I am more confident that I made the correct choice. Hoping to lose weight.

  41. Thank you for your review. I sincerely appreciate your honesty and you have answered many of the questions I have about Noom. I think like a lot of women, I have tried many different weight loss programs and spent thousands in the process, but have never seen long lasting success. I’m curious if anyone has lost 70+ pounds on Noom and have they had lasting success? I know everyone loses at their own pace, but how long did it take? I am 42 and have been overweight since my early 20s. I’m tired of being this big (230+ pounds) and need some hope that a program will work for someone like me and will have lasting success.

  42. I have to say, I was skeptical about NOOM after trying pretty much every diet out there. However, I loved NOOM. I looked forward to the daily articles and advice. I had a coach and group to work with. I learned so many wonderful things about why I eat, where ( in front of the TV) what. I learned a lot about mindfulness in eating and in life. I have lost 16 pounds, which is awesome since I am in full blown menopause and nothing was working. I would recommend this program to anyone who is looking for a new way to lose weight and live healthier.
    I do have one issue, when I finished my first 16 weeks, I rejoined for another session. A few weeks into the new session I knew I wanted to finish this one and try it on my own. I contacted my coach and said I didn’t want to rejoin for a third session but was looking forward to finishing up my next 12 or 13 weeks with NOOM. From that point, I haven’t received any articles, coaching, all my saved articles went away. I should have waited til closer to the end of the session but I tend to forget and they automatically rejoin you if you don’t say not to.
    Other than feeling like I didn’t get my money’s worth for the last session. I really enjoyed NOOM.

  43. I *just* signed up for Noom and then read this article. Thanks so much for posting the good things and the things you wished it had. I have been seriously contemplating getting the gastric sleeve procedure and even joined a FB group for it. I continuously waffle back and forth with deciding about getting the sleeve or not and finally said, “try at least one more time to lose the weight on your own before trying a surgical procedure that will change your physiology FOREVER.” I feel like, deep down, I know what to do it’s just that I’ve never completed a personal goal with my weight. Ever. I’ve gotten close though. I don’t know what it feels like to have lasting success. My self-sabotage skills are legendary. I want this time to be different. I’d like to lose at least 70 pounds. Wish me luck!

  44. I signed up for Noom a couple of days ago and I already love it. Pretty much for the same reasons you and everybody commenting does – I love the coach, articles, accountability and the fun. I’ve done WW so many times, I know how to work the system to eat only junk in a day and still be within my points – meetings are tired repetitions of months / years gone by (same people / same stories). I’m looking forward to different and positive. That seems to be what we’re getting with Noom. I mentioned it to friends last night and they’re already waiting to hear what I think when we meet up again next month.

  45. Thank you for your honesty! I’ve struggled with my weight my entire adult life. No excuses, poor habits, poor examples, parents who put value on my weight! I just joined Noom after hearing an ad. earlier today while pulling up to my Cardiologist appointment.
    No heart issues, perfect blood work- the issue I have, nothing losing half my bod weight won’t address.
    So again, I thank you for your honest and open review of Noom. I just signed up, it’s different. Over 60 and this will be the program that supports my goals, no shame, no guilt!

  46. Last November, I promised myself that by my 60th birthday (Jan 28) I would lose the extra 20lbs I’ve been carrying around post-menopause and after a major spine operation in 2017. A long-time friend had mentioned using Noom in late 2017. I saw a TV ad for Noom, checked your encouraging review and replies, and started on November 28. By my birthday I had reached my goal. I’ve learned alot about the emotional aspects of eating. And, I gladly do two things I NEVER wanted to do before: weigh my food and keep an (electronic) log. I even bought a nice kitchen scale. For me, the calorie budget is like a bank account. I can decide how to “spend” my budget for each meal. And seeing an increased calorie budget for doing exercise is like getting a bonus! My experience with Noom was so positive (personal coach, group coach, and noomie group) that I’ve purchased a year subscription to continue to learn about healthy eating while having an occasional indulgence (red food);)

  47. I’ve been on Noom now for just over 10 weeks. I’m 56 and just need to get healthy. WW never seemed the right fit, it was all about the food no matter the plan…as are most of those programs. Noom is different….it really works….since that time I’ve lost 35 lbs and don’t feel ready to binge eat somewhere! Your blog helped me to decide to try it….it’s worth going past the free 14 day trial. I find the personal coach helpful, but the group (that I thought I’d hate) is fabulous….you feel like you have a real cheerleading team behind you. The reading and writing exercises make sense and really address the issues. It’s not a diet….I just count calories (well the program does) and I apply the things I’m learning and the weight is just going away. Best decision I ever made. To the one lady that said she couldn’t afford it with the gym membership, you can’t afford to not do it….whether it’s 10lbs or 100lbs you want to lose, it works for everyone that really applies the learnings. It’s better than the miracle pill (that doesn’t exist) because it works and you have the satisfaction of knowing you did it yourself!

  48. Hi Laura!
    I’ve been using Noom since March and though I’ve never really struggled with my weight, it’s worked wonders for me! (I need to fit into my vow renewal dress. Yikes!) Like you mentioned, the biggest help was changing my attitude towards food – stop putting some foods on a pedestal while vilifying others. I didn’t even realize I had an all or nothing mentality towards food. If I ate something “bad” I used to beat myself up and say “Oh, well the day is destroyed now so I may as well eat this cake and chips too!” Now, if I occasionally make one “bad” choice, I just shrug and endeavor to make better choices thereafter.

    Now that I’m thinking of cancelling my subscription – I’m more than 5 lbs below my goal – I’m worried about losing features that I like and still find useful. What exactly do you still have access to on the app once you cancel? The FAQs section is sorely lacking…

    Thanks for the great article!

  49. I was definitely on the fence about signing up but after reading your experience I’m happy to say I’m all in. I am starting my Goals today! Thanks for the encouraging words.
    Congratulations on your success you look great!

  50. Loved the comment about WW liver once I week (thank you Rachel; I still don’t like liver)…Noom is terrific, because in addition to the content modules, it emphasizes healthy eating without drastic changes in your favorites (other than how often and how much!). I am not a texter by choice; I prefer to read paper or on the computer, but I dutifully read on my phone each day and weighed in (ugh). I learned A LOT. I’ve lost the (prednisone-induced) weight. Thank you Laura for this blog. It has been helpful esp. as I am at the end of my weight-loss requirement. Now, the important part is to incorporate what I learned…to remain vigilant (i.e. mindful).

  51. I startednoo m 2wee ks ago. Iam 67an d gained weight at menopause. I have lost 6 pounds and have more to lose. I have tried other diets and exercise. I am happy with the program..

  52. Thanks for this review!! You answered a lot of my questions. I just signed up yesterday so my timing is similar to yours though I have more weight to lose. ? I have rheumatoid arthritis and am unable to do most exercise. I wear a Fitbit and get in as many steps a day as I can. I’m hoping my coach will be able to help me even with my limitations. . And my Day One was all yellow!! So you made me feel better ?

  53. I joined Noom just under 3 weeks ago and I’ve already lost 12 pounds. I love the ease of logging food and we have a terrific Noom group chat going. I tied my account to FitBit which reminds me to get up and move every hour. I work in an office sitting at a desk and this has been helpful for relieving both my chronic pack pain and overall stress. I agree this is a unique approach to weight loss and I am all in. Thank you for sharing your story!

  54. I joined Noom in August. I am 65 and newly retired. I honestly enjoy reading the daily articles and logging my meals. Now that I am in better habits, I don’t crave sugar or carbs like I used to do. I also don’t feel guilty about celebrating birthdays or other celebrations with friends and family. I enjoy a little cake and am satisfied. I have more energy and feel more like exercising since I have lost 15 pounds. I did this slowly but without much effort and also with going on two vacations! My weight has fluctuated but is on a downward trend.
    Good luck everyone on this journey. If I can do this, you can!

  55. I just started on Monday… i’m encouraged by your post…i will turn 60 next week and need to lose weight. I will stick with it…have lost a couple of pounds

  56. I began Noom on May 20, 2019 and turned 61 the following month. WW had messed up my metabolism so badly when followed during my 20s, 30s, and 40s, and low-carb had seemed to be the answer during my 50s. But the last five years, I hadn’t been able to keep it off or handle the low-fiber, high-fat foods of a low-carb diet and just wished so badly that I could “eat normally.” I had never been able to lose “the last ten pounds” that plagued me. I’ve been under goal since September or before, but the biggest change has been the ability to handle life. The lessons on thought distortions, mindful eating, and dealing with stress have given me what I would term “happiness skills” that have changed me forever. The past month was a blur helping aging parents, but I have just caught up on the daily lessons from Weeks 22-23, as well as the first three weeks (24-26) of the “post-core phase.” I continue to learn and find the fee so moderate compared to college tuition or a private coach at a gym. It amazes me that I can now eat like a normal person, even under times of high stress, and not gain weight, so long as I eat mindfully and keep moving. I’ve found the tracker so much easier to use than Atkins (the only online tracker I had ever tried) and have loved the interaction with my group and coaches. I highly recommend Noom to anyone with the desire to meet a new person inside themselves, a happy, confident new you.

  57. Thank you for such a great review. I especially loved you sharing your food colours breakdown and comparison. I’m 2 weeks in to the programme and working on changing more of that red to green! Congratulations on losing the weight. x

  58. Thank you SO MUCH for this review. Your in depth look at it and honest insight have definitely given me the boost I needed to say YES to Noom. I’ve struggled with weight and trying different programs, and as we all do, I’ve gotten frustrated and wanted to give up.I was just so happy to read a real person’s success story with it, and I’m so glad you’re doing great with it (and after the program!). I can’t wait to try it, thank you again for this post!

  59. I am signing up for Noom thanks to your review! One question: they are asking if I want to sign up for a meal plan and custom workout—-I didn’t see that in the review. Is that something you did?

  60. I tried NOOM after reading your column a few months ago. I’m just finishing my 14th week. I only needed to lose 16 pounds and actually lost four of those pounds before signing up. My experience seemed pretty identical to everything you wrote. I reached my goal on Thanksgiving morning.

    My renewal will end in late January. I’ve stopped weighing in and logging food on a daily basis, but when I do track it, I’m still at my target weight and my daily calorie intake is just about 200 calories above my daily target when I was losing the weight.

    My initial ups and downs (and agonizing ‘plateaus’) had me significantly stressed in the beginning, but by the second month, I was confidently taking them in stride.

    I feel fairly confident that many of the improved habits that I’ve developed, will survive the test of time (I.e., oatmeal and fruit are now a breakfast staple). And it’s just so nice to not have to squish into my jeans in the morning.

  61. Hey Laura (and other Noomers) –

    Thanks very much for this. I am a 54 year old father of three teenage kids who’s been searching for a while for a way to drop some weight and live my life in a healthy way and think I’ve found it in Noom. The food choices and the way to look at them are the most powerful thing I think.

    Here are my questions for experienced Noomers out there and they are for myself and my daughter. She’s 17 now, fully grown and struggling somewhat with food. There is a lot of pressure in her life to use sugar and candy as a self-soothing/celebration mechanism. She goes to a girls high school and it’s an every day thing for girls to bring sugar in (all forms) as a way to celebrate and socialize. Many of the girls haven’t fully grown and/or have much more active metabolisms than my daughter so it’s very hard for her. So…
    – Generally, Noom gives you choices but it also gives you a daily calorie budget as well. When you reach your goal, does the app/coach/support group give you a target number for your life? How did you blend that in to your life after Noom?
    – For my daughter, I know it sounds crazy but it seems like there’s a stigma to actually leading a healthy lifestyle (it’s related to body shaming, right??). Any other parents out there have experience with this? What advice do you give?

    Thanks!

  62. Thanks for a GREAT summary – I found your blog while researching “what happens when I cancel subscription for NOOM”. I’ve lost 27 pounds in 20 weeks, met 3 weight loss goals (just kept moving the bar lower to see where my body landed) and feel great thanks to Noom.

    I started exactly the same way you did, in September, at my highest weight ever, trying to get a jump on the start of my annual “downhill slide” of weight gain beginning with Halloween and adding pounds with each passing week through the holidays and beyond. My first week, like you, I ate normally and found that I was eating all red foods. My biggest takeaway was finding healthy substitutes for the red foods I was eating. Made grocery shopping an hours long adventure but it totally worked. By starting NOOM in September, by Halloween I had already started losing and the daily articles helped so much, I conquered Halloween for the first time -ever- and continued on to enjoy happy and healthy holidays and beyond..
    What I like best about NOOM along with the mental aspect of learning new behaviors, is that it counts calories, not points, and that makes it so much easier to stay on track. I was happy with my consultant and group through the early weeks, but as I got better on it on my own, I felt that I needed my coach less, so I have canceled my subscription and plan to go it on my own to see how it goes. But if I feel it benefits me to sign back up and get my coach back, I will do so in a skinny second (pun intended). NOOM changed my life!

  63. Hello Laura,
    what an inspiring and great story. Like you I too have had issues with the yo-yo diets up and down 5 to 15 pounds. I’ve been looking into a noom & going back-and-forth, but after reading your story I definitely want to give it a go. I am 56 yo 5”6’ & 160 pounds fairly active but I have bad eating habits and lack portion control! I love my red wine, so that’s a problem because it opens up my appetite! My goal weight is 145#. It’s very difficult to stay or even start to get motivated with this uncertain time of COVID-19. Again thank you so very much for your inspiration! Wish me luck! Anna

  64. I’ve been on the fence about this for so long. My weight finally surpassed the heaviest I’ve ever been. The time to do something is now. I used your link and have committed to the 5 months suggested. I’m not excited but I am hopeful. Thank you for your review. It was the last little push I needed to make a change.

  65. Thanks so much for this review. I’ve been looking at Noom on and off for ages but wanted to know more about it. I’m currently doing Slimming World but the problem is that I know what I should be doing but I self-sabotage. All. The. Time. I feel I’m at war between wanting to lose weight but not wanting to stop eating the foods I like. So it’s all mental with me and I think Noom might actually help. Going to give it a go.

  66. I’m totally not your audience – i’m a middle-age guy. I was planning to write a review for NOOM, but your post really nails all the points I wanted to make. It’s been 30 days and I lost 8 lbs, and it’s still going downwards. Thanks to your in-depth review – I’ve shared it to many others to explain to them what NOOM is.

  67. I have less than three weeks left of my Noom subscription and have lost 20 lbs. I am in my late 40s and like many, was seeing the highest weight I’d ever had in my life. One of the most helpful things you learn is that there will be ups and downs. I might go up a pound or so from time to time, when I treat myself, but I know exactly how to eat in order to get the weight back down. I like the emphasis on getting steps in. I am also running which I haven’t done in years, but I know once the pandemic is over I won’t have as much time to devote to all this. As long as I can get some steps in, I think I can manage. The best part of this program is that it’s not a diet. It’s about awareness of what you’re eating.

  68. I joined Noom a month ago and am down 4 kg (around 10 lbs). I am a young 61 and have had ups and downs weight wise for decades. I am confident NOOM will be different as I have learnt new stuff regarding the colour coding, trigger thoughts, why I eat what I eat, etc. Loving it and recommend to anyone who has struggled over time. Good luck 🙂

  69. I tried NOOM as a last resort. I was skeptical at first since I’m no good with willpower. It’s just not part of my world. NOOM is completely different. It got i to the nooks and crannies of my brain and taught me HOW to eat and why l ate like l did. I didn’t get that from Weight Watchers or Nutri System, etc. NOOM saved me from myself. I lost 20 pounds so far. I haven’t been able to do that with any other program. I highly recommend it.

  70. This gives me hope. I’m 64 and have struggled with weight my entire life. For multitudes of reasons I am finally at a point where I can focus on myself and feel like I have the right to try and make some changes.
    I just started Noom a week ago – so I have a long way to go – but actually feel hopeful that this may work. I have already lost 2 pounds and find myself thinking about things differently. I need to feel better in my own skin and not feel like I’m taking up an enormous amount of room or will break a chair. Yes, I’m mostly in the red area, but I do like fruit so am also scoring in the green area! Gotta work on that yellow stuff!
    I really would like to use some of the recipes tho. Does anyone know anyway we can print them from our phones? Makes me crazy that I can’t do that. Or that I haven’t figured out how to do that.

  71. I signed up for Noom today using your link. I turned 40 last year and though I’ve struggled with weight my entire life, I have found that since I hit 40 the pounds are packing on even faster than before. I read your review yesterday after having considering joining for awhile. This morning I got up and stepped on the scale for the first time in a very long time. I weigh the most that I’ve ever weighed. I measured myself, took some “Before” photos, sat down at my computer and signed up. I was anorexic when I was a young adult, and over the years I’ve gone back and forth between caring too much about the number on the scale, and not giving a damn about the number on the scale (which is when I end up ballooning up). I’m hoping that Noom helps me find a way of life that I can stick with. I’m so tired of the yoyoing. Thank you for being an inspiration. I get paired with my coach tomorrow and I can’t wait.

  72. I started on April 1st of this year and I have just lost my first 23 pounds. I knew it would be slow going for me because of my age and the fact that I’m on oxygen so my exercising is very limited in what I can do. Every other diet I’ve tried I’d loose a few pounds, could not stick to the strict food rules and gain back even more weight. Noom is so different. I loved it. My goal specialist helped a lot. She understood my limitations and worked with them. My time is almost up now but I am very happy with the weight I have lost and I really don’t have to log my meals anymore. I pretty much know what I can eat and what I cannot. This is the best program ever. It really is a lifestyle change and I now eat healthy with lots of fruits and veggies, get in some exercise every day and even have some treats now and then. I still have some more weight to loose but I’m more than half way. If I was physically able to exercise more I am sure I would have lost the weight more quickly but my neighbor saw me recently and was shocked at what I lost and she started Noom the next day. She loves it too. This plan can work for everyone and if you fail one day at your goals tomorrow is a brand new day. I loved all the support I got from my coaches and the group chat. It was well worth the cost.

  73. I really appreciate this review! I just hit my one month with noom and am down 8% of my starting weight (thanks quarantine! ?) I am relieved to see you say that I will still have access to the tracking after my program is canceled, I was worried about that.

  74. Thanks for your review. My sister Gail shared her ongoing results back in June and it spurred me to check out NOOM. I joined June 25th. Since then I’ve gone from 239 lbs to 213 lbs. I’m so glad Gail shared her story so I could finally get motivated for me. NOOM is definitely not a diet, it shows you how to make lifestyle choices/changes that really make a difference. At 7 lbs I noticed my belly and double chin were shrinking. At 20 lbs lost I bought new pants that were a size 14. I started in an 18. Those 14’s are already starting to get loose. My goal weight is 135 lbs so I have a little way to go, but now I know I can get there. I’m making the right changes that are easy to stick with.

  75. Thanks for your article!
    It really helped me to see the direction I am going, after just two months on Noom I know it is in the right direction!
    I am down 18.6 pounds to date and I am going to keep going. I love the lessons, I have not eaten over 1,200 calories since joining and I stick to not go over in my color categories. I am proud to say I average over 700 Green Calories per day! I feel good and for the first time since having children I feel I can get back to my wedding weight. I have tried all kinds of diets and for the first time this feels like real life. Looking forward to your newsletter!

  76. Hi Laura,
    I’m not sure if you are still checking these comments but I have a question. I am a mother of 5 precious children and I home educate them. I have put on weigh with close-together pregnancies and my body seems to hold on to weight while nursing. I know I stress eat but we also eat a ton of healthy food. Loads of produce. I’ll likely need to adjust portions and really limit chips as my husband must have a large supply of chips around but eventually they become too tempting for me! Oh, and baked goods. Yum. I bake pretty often for our family too. Anyway, my question is: Do you think this program can be successful for a mom who has VERY LITTLE time to herself? My youngest is 1 year old and still wakes often at night. I don’t sleep enough. We also are low-income so I worry about the investment for a program that won’t fit into my life. Thank you for any feedback!

  77. I was going through the quiz and trying to decide if I wanted to try Noom, I have looked before at information. I have done WW reached goal only to gain my weight back. Your article has helped me decide to sign up. Thank you!

  78. I really wanted to like this review but like most blogs, it just went on and on about things that I couldn’t care about. It would’ve been helpful if you had just gotten straight to the point instead of explaining everything and talking at length about this or that. A simple, structured, no holds-barred, and straight-forward, but yes, honest assessment was needed.

  79. This review is WAAAAYYYY too long for me. I read for ten minutes then realised I still had about 80% of the article to go!! Sorry but it’s too much and I’ll leave it here.

  80. Thank you for your article. I just joined Noom two days ago and am very excited to begin the process. I find it inspiring to read others stories! I know we are all different and that we lose at different rates BUT it is encouraging to see how many people are able to succeed. I am working the plan and have set my goal to be one of those people!

  81. I did the program and lost absolutely nothing. I have always been an attentive eater and made healthy choices. I have become a hermit type person since covid hit, but I still get in at least 2.5-5 miles a day moving around the house. Not much for cardio and this is probably why I haven’t lost anything significant. Lose and gain the 3 to 5 lbs over the 5 months, but nothing outside of those few fluctuating pounds. It’s a good program, with lots of reading and journaling, but my “support group” was horrid and didn’t talk to each other, but my goal specialist was wonderful. This program might work for some, but definitely won’t work for everyone.

  82. I started Noom on Sept.27th of 2020….I weighed in at 211 and some change…today..Decenber 6th I’m 187.2 My weight hasn’t been like this since 2000. My goal is between 165 and 170 and Im less than halfway there thanks to Noom. I like the fact that most foods out there are listed in their calorie counter and really the only exercise I do is walking. I get between 8000 and 10000 steps a day and as I go over the required step count…itll increase a little bit the next. I’ll admit I’ve has those days when I just couldn’t hit it…so Noom will decrease it. The group coach is great…but the personal one sounds too much like a bit. My daily required calorie intake starts off at 1400 which I think is way too liw…but I’ve managed bot to go over it…the more daily steps you take….for example…if your required step count goes above 9000….so do your allowed calories. Tour choice of exercise is up to you but as of right now…Im sticking to the steps…hoping (and it looks like I will) hit my goals by April….

    1. Sorry for the spelling errors….trying to do this from my phone and these dang pop ups are distracting…the personal coach sounds too much like a “bot “….the daily calorie intake is too “low” but ive managed “not” to go over it.

  83. Hi Cheryl,
    I am 69 and just started NOOM one week ago today. I heard about it from two of my friends, each of whom lost 30 lbs. I haven’t told them (yet) that I started the program. In fact, I haven’t told anyone! LOL But when my husband was diagnosed recently with diverticulitis, our doctor told us that we needed to change our diet. We had been following a Low-Carb diet for years… with pretty good results, but the doctor said that he needed to eat a more high fiber diet…. fruits, potatoes, rice, bread, etc. (CARBS! Ah-yi-yi!)

    So I decided I needed help in figuring out this new way of eating. I looked into NOOM because of the weight that my friends have lost, and found that NOOM was offering a two-week trial to the program. I figured two weeks would tell me if it worked for me. The verdict? I love it!

    I found that I can pretty much eat anything I want to…. even Dairy Queen (haha)… as long as I plan for it. I have logged in all of my foods in the past week, staying at or below my calorie count, I have started a walking program and am up to almost 4 miles a day (my dogs love it), I am trying lots of new recipes, and I had two bites of my husband’s Dairy Queen Blizzard on Saturday and found that was the PERFECT AMOUNT! Granted, it has only been a week, and I’ve lost “only” 3 pounds, I do feel like I am in control! Living in Puerto Vallarta, finding some of the foods allowed is a little daunting, but I am doing my best!

    I love all of the 10-15 min/day psychological tips, too. I found myself using some of the strategies I learned, such as when grocery shopping, or tempted to eat a candy bar, or feeling overwhelmed at the 30 pounds I want to lose, etc. The acronyms (SMART, YPB, etc) have stuck in my head, and I just feel happy that I took this step!

    Thank you for sharing YOUR thoughts. It made me realize that this CAN and WILL work for me! I plan to tell my husband when he notices that I am losing weight! LOL

  84. Second time trying Noom just now … The reviews on the App saying it’s a scam and not worth it made me really scared so I decided to search for a more comprehensive review. Thank you so much for a very insightful and honest commentary. I’ve been struggling with my weight ever since I gave birth 2 years ago so I am really hoping that Noom would help me. Thanks again!

  85. Thanks a ton for this review!! I too have 2 little ones and am the heaviest I’ve ever ever been. Binge eating, despite knowing it’s wrong, self-sabotaging, and not wanting to give up eating happy food coz life’s too short! I’d done the trial last year but didn’t sign up but now I’m really inclined to esp after reading the comments here too! Thanks and all the best to everyone!

  86. I’m just about to turn 22 and have always been somewhat stocky in build. Within the last year my weight has shot up to 215 from 170 a year prior. My goal weight is 145, but I primarily do strength-training in the gym and expect to be heavier. In fact, I was training to compete in Powerlifting but decided to move my aim to my biggest stressor: body weight. Being strong is great, but I’m sick and tired of trying to convince myself that “its just muscle, not fat,” and “I’m a lot smaller than most people who are 215.” Whether or not those things are partially true, they are preventing me from being happy with my body and being healthy. I’ve always disliked the fad-diets, not only because I can’t stick to them past a week but also because they’re unsustainable. My mom has always used Atkins or the Keto diet to get to her goal weight quick — and it works. But, as soon as she goes back to eating like a regular human, she gains it all back and oftentimes gains back some extra. To circle back, I have 70lbs to lose. That’s a lot. I also want to note that I don’t want to be skin and bones with some sinewy muscle slapped on top. Either way, I just signed up for Noom last night and am already so excited to see how this helps. I’m ready to see where it leads and I’m stoked for the ongoing results.

  87. I’ve been using Noom for awhile now. I’m down several lbs and feeling positive and motivated rather than deprived and perpetually hangry. Deprived and hangry basically describes every minute of every other weight-loss plan I’ve ever tried before Noom.

    This program educates you as much about your own personal triggers and motivators as it does about the whys and whats of how you should eat. It definitely awakens your dietary self-awareness, for sure. The short and sweet approach they take nearly eliminates the possibility of program burnout.

    In regard to the coach and support group facet of the program, I’m more of a non-communicative do-it-yourselfer. But I reached out to my coach once, during a period of hormonally driven dietary desperation, and I was given support and motivation in encouraging un-pushy and un-judgy way that set me right back on track. The coach doesn’t badger me to communicate and the group is basically just there if I want to share…and I generally don’t.

    For anyone who may be considering Noom… if you want to be told exactly what to do, exactly what to eat, and exactly how to exercise every step of the way, Noom is NOT for you. But if you’re looking for something that encourages you to change by offering guidance, education and positivity, while always reminding you that success doesn’t really require perfection, Noom might be “the one”.

  88. I have been on NOOM for 330 days! One month away from the year contract I signed up for! I was 208 (the heaviest I had ever been) and now I am 172. My goal weight is 160. I am 42 year old mom of two boys and I dont exercise. What I like best about noom is the coaching. It really helped me get through the tough plateaus and the sense of failure when I got week and splurged. They let me know its ok and its about making long term changes and you dont have to be perfect. So despite a few week days of weakness here and there and splurging for a thanksgiving dinner or birthdays or whatever I am doing well and couldnt be happier with the program. My original goal was 165 but I decided to make it 160 so that my weight will be within the BMI healthy range for my age/height. I am so glad I did it. Its hard work but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.